Eilean Donan, Loch Duich Island, Scotland. The castle is named after Celtic saint Donnan of Eigg, who established a church here first in 617. However, the castle, as we see it today, was built in the 13th century and belonged to the Clan Mackenzie.
The castle has witnessed a lot of aristocratic dramas and attacks from the Mackenzie’s enemies. Ultimately the castle has been fully destroyed by the Jacobites and their Spanish supporters after a bombing in 1719, which left ruins only.
The castle’s renovation started in 1919 and was finished in 1932. Today it is one of the most popular castles in Scotland. Its dramatic exterior attracts many visitors, photographers and filmmakers, as well as advertisers. Eilean Donan’s beauty has made it an iconic Scottish symbol.
Why to go there?
Historically and culturally significant site, the most popular and photographed Scottish castle.
When to go there?
All year round.
How to get there?
Get there by bus or car. There is a free parking lot.
Lead photo by Mark Nicol
[symple_googlemap title=”Eilean Donan Castle, Dornie, Jungtinė Karalystė” location=”Eilean Donan Castle, Dornie, Jungtinė Karalystė” zoom=”10″ height=250]